Bill Hammons: Writing and Running in Boulder, Colorado



Brazilian Government System: Federal Presidential Republic

Click here for List of Brazilian Political Parties

In Brazil, Executive power is exercised by a President advised by a cabinet. Legislative power is vested upon the National Congress, a bicameral legislature composed of the Federal Senate and the Chamber of Deputies. Judicial power is exercised by the judiciary, consisting of the Supreme Federal Court, the Superior Court of Justice and other Superior Courts, the National Justice Council and the regional federal courts.

The States are autonomous sub-national entities with their own constitutions and governments that, together with the other federative units, form the Federal Republic of Brazil. Currently, Brazil is divided politically and administratively into 26 states and one federal district. In each state, the Executive power is exercised by a Governor elected to a four-year term. Judicial power is exercised by courts of first and second instance addressing the common justice. Each State has a unicameral legislature with deputies who vote on state laws. The legislative assemblies supervise the activities of the Executive power of the states and municipalities.

The municipalities are minor federal units of the Federal Republic of Brazil. Each municipality has an autonomous local government composed of a mayor directly elected by the people to a four-year term and a legislative body also directly elected by the people.


In the News! Author's Story My Fiction Bill's List Boston Qualifiers Errata Forums Boulder SEO

Copyright © W.R. Hammons. All rights reserved, although linking to this site is encouraged.