Bill Hammons: Writing and Running in Boulder, Colorado


Fourteeners in Colorado's San Juan Mountains

The San Juan Mountains are a rugged mountain range running through southwestern Colorado. The San Juans were important in the early gold and silver industries of the state, though the last major mining operation in the range closed late in the 20th century. Due to the steepness of these mountains, only Telluride has made the transition from an old mining town to a modern ski resort. The San Juan and Uncompahgre National Forests cover a good deal of the range.

The San Juan Mountains' Fourteeners include:

  • Mt. Eolus
  • Handies Peak
  • Redcloud Peak
  • San Luis Peak
  • Mt. Sneffels
  • Sunlight Peak
  • Sunshine Peak
  • Uncompahgre Peak
  • Wetterhorn Peak
  • Mt. Wilson
  • Wilson Peak
  • Windom Peak


  • Copyright W.R. Hammons. All rights reserved, although linking to this site is encouraged.