Bill Hammons: Writing and Running in Boulder, Colorado


Fourteeners in Colorado's Sawatch Range

The Sawatch Range (also spelled "Saguache") is a subrange of the Rocky Mountains stretching 70 miles southeast through central Colorado, between Aspen and Leadville. The mountains of this range run massive and high, though with gentle slopes. The Sawatch forms part of the Continental Divide, and is traversed by Hagerman and Independence Passes, though Hagerman Pass is traversable only with 4WD vehicles and Independence Pass is usually open only from late spring to mid Autumn.

The Sawatch Range's Fourteeners include:

  • Mt. Antero
  • Mt. Belford
  • Mt. Columbia
  • Mt. Elbert
  • Mt. Harvard
  • Huron Peak
  • La Plata Peak
  • Mt. Massive
  • Missouri Mountain
  • Mt. of the Holy Cross
  • Mt. Oxford
  • Mt. Princeton
  • Mt. Shavano
  • Tabeguache Peak
  • Mt. Yale


  • Copyright © W.R. Hammons. All rights reserved, although linking to this site is encouraged.