Politics Guide: Governors, US Senators, Representatives



The United States Senate is the upper house of the bicameral legislature of the United States, and together with the House of Representatives comprises the United States Congress. The powers of the Senate are established in Article One of the US Constitution, and, also per the Constitution, each State is represented by two Senators regardless of population with elected Senators serving staggered six-year terms. Senators were elected by State Legislatures until the 1913 passage of the 17th Amendment mandating direct election of US Senators by the citizenry.

The chamber of the United States Senate is located in the north wing of the Capitol in Washington, DC (the House of Representatives convenes in the south wing of the same building).

The Senate has several exclusive powers not granted to the House, including consenting to treaties as a precondition to their ratification and consenting to or confirming appointments of Cabinet secretaries, Federal judges and other Federal executive officials, military officers, regulatory officials, Ambassadors, and other Federal uniformed officers. The Senate also acts as the jury for trials of Federal officials impeached by the House, including United States Presidents.

The Senate is considered both a more deliberative and more prestigious body than the House of Representatives due to its longer terms, smaller size, and statewide constituencies leading to a historically more collegial and less partisan atmosphere. The United States Senate is sometimes called the "world's greatest deliberative body."

In the News! Author My Fiction Bill's List Boston Qualifiers 14ers Errata Forums Boulder SEO

Copyright W.R. Hammons. All rights reserved, although linking to this site is encouraged.